Home > Review > Saturday at the Movies – Snow White and the Huntsman

Saturday at the Movies – Snow White and the Huntsman

Hey everyone!

Looks like I am a little late to the party where everyone is sharing a review of Snow White.  I am also finding a lot of people liked it.  Which makes me wonder, have I turned into a sheep as well?  Cause I sorta kinda loved it…

Before I start, let me apologize to my best friend Mira.  I had promised her we would make fun of the movie in the safety of my home, complete with throwing popcorn at the screen and hoping the cat did not eat it all.

****WARNING: Spoilers Ahead****

For a review with no spoils feel free to check out Tameri Etherton and her review of the movie.  Jillian Dodd also ranked the movie and had me laughing so check it out.

 

Much to my surprise, I liked the movie.  It was nothing like I expected and honestly I did not mind spending 2 hours in a dark theater.  Also I was feeling all the beards (not literally, but damn they are sexy) and Charlize Theron is amazing.

So where to start?

Cast

Charlize Theron                                Ravenna (Evil Queen)
Kristen Stewart                                 Snow White
Chris Hemsworth                             Eric (Huntsman)
Sam Spruell                                        Finn (Queen’s Brother)

Movies Depicted
300
Princess Monenoke
Green Arrow
Chronicals of Narnia
Joan of Arc

Overall

So everyone knows a version of Snow White.  Queen wants her heart, SW runs away and meets dwarves, Queen comes with an apple, SW is dead asleep, Prince gives a kiss and they live happily ever after.  We have all that but imagine taking the disney version, getting her drunk and rolling her around in some dirt and nasty stuff.  Then give the whole group an acid trip while killing puppies and you can feel the level of dispair from everyone.  This is a DARK world and I love it.

To be honest, this movie was really all about the personal demons and what you do about them.  Each person is hurting like hell from emotional baggage and this is like a redemption story.  Even the Queen has lost almost everything and is frantic to hold on to the only thing she has left – her beauty.  It pretty much drives her insane.

I also loved how the CGI is used.  Too many movies use it as a crutch and not a special effect.  In SW I still remembered the people and CGI enhanced the scenes.  They were more scary or more beautiful.  I loved the Princess Monenoke scene because it was a different version of Stewart than I have seen in a long time.  All of the actors I think added a lot and I cared about each of them from within the first few moments.

The score also did well.  Some movies think they will suck and go over the top on everything.  Yes you get cues on what to feel from the music just in case you are not sure but I think I would have felt the same way even with minimal sound.  Like I said, character driven.

Lastly it is very continuous.  The little details almost always matter and the pace kept me interested.  Woot!

Acting
Stewart is not my favorite.  Usually I hate how awkward she is and how she drags the movie down.  But maybe she found her niche.  When she does not speak, she does this thing with her eyes where I know she is telepathic and speaking without a word.  Terror is a good emotion for her and I mean that in the sense that most times, terror comes off as lame horror movie.  Usually I laugh at those faces.  Not her.  Almost the whole movie is her showing her strengths and weaknesses rather than telling.  I kind of loved it.

Charlize Theron can do no wrong.  From the first few moments, even though she is the bad guy and you see her kill the king, you feel bad for her.  I did.  She played a woman so jaded by the world that she came off as sympathetic.  Also she is totally bad ass and not in a creepy way.  She just… is.  When her evil brother dies I felt bad for the Queen.  Can you believe that?  Hell, even SW cries when the Queen dies and I felt just as bad.  That is NOT easy to pull off.

Chris Hemsworth has a beard that is drool worthy.  Also, those eyes can glare at me through a drunken haze any time they like.  He was rude, obnoxious, sarcastic and deeply wounded.  He is a drunk with no real desire to help SW except he has a massive amount of guilt resting on his shoulders.  He helps the princess to atone for his past sins.  Inside I cheered when his kiss broke the spell.  One of three kisses in the whole movie, two of which are *gross* post mortem.  By the way, if you are a woman pretending to be a man and you kiss a girl 100 years younger just so you can kill her, are you a lesbian?

In the End
I do recommend seeing this movie.  Maybe not in the theater but at least rent it when it is on DVD.  The movie itself was good and it finished in a way that left me satisfied.   There is a lot to it that holds to the traditional movies and story.  All in all I would not mind watching again.

As for a lack of kissing, this is no happily ever after tale.  It does what it can to be realistic and the ending fit the bill.  Besides, that is what sequels are for.  Babies with beards any one?

What did you think of Snow White and the Huntsman?

  1. June 9, 2012 at 11:10 AM

    Thanks for the link to my review. I totally agree, this was dark and totally the SW story I wanted to see. I love Disney, but there are only so many birds singing that I can handle. I love that they still have the Dwarves sing, but it was melancholy as was fitting the mood. I also think the ending left it that SW doesn’t need a man. She can stand on her own and choose her own prince if she desires. I really loved that.

    Great review. I didn’t get the Monenoke reference, so I’ll be watching that again this weekend to catch it.

  2. June 9, 2012 at 7:44 PM

    ah…. now I get what is the name in English for the Japanese cartoon – Princess Mononoke! Thanks! And thanks for the link, what a different perspective kind of review from you. Great!

  3. June 9, 2012 at 9:43 PM

    Princess Mononoke has a spirit that looks like a giant elk. It also gets shot and turns into many smaller spirits before becoming a giant monster. Just kind of interesting that this was an influence.

  4. June 10, 2012 at 7:43 AM

    “a beard that is drool worthy”, couldn’t have said it better myself!

    • June 10, 2012 at 9:52 AM

      Haha as soon as we got out of the movie I asked my boyfriend if he could grow one. Oh beards ^_^

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

