Home > Twilight Challenge > Twilight Challenge – Dusk Recap

Twilight Challenge – Dusk Recap

The Twilight Saga (film series)

The Twilight Saga (film series) (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Original

Word Count – 119227

Page Count – 181

Chapters – 25

Times Edward is mentioned – 437

Times Cullen is mentioned – 95

Times Bella is mentioned – 231

Times Swan is mentioned – 16

 

Re Write

Word Count – 58,028

Page Count – 135

Times Edward is mentioned – 168

Times Cullen is mentioned – 51

Times Bella is mentioned – 96

Times Swan is mentioned – 10

 

I have lost all sanity.  I have been to the edge of the Abyss and due to a lack of balance I have fallen over.

The almost impossible has been done.  As you can see from the above statistics I have recreated the first book in the Twilight Saga to be more than it was.  It is interesting, there are better characters and there is more plot.  More than that, it is much shorter by half.

What have I learned?

Never take on such a challenge again.  While I have uncovered a few funny moments that had me laughing out loud…. Never again.  I have drowned in adjectives.  It was awful.

What is cool to see is how others see this newly written version.

The next step is to redo New Moon.  For that I need a new title, possibly Dark Moon.  In it I intend to not let Bella be a stupid ho bag.  Edward is missing but Jacob has a much better chance of being with the girl he loves.  The twist?  Bella is faced with a choice.  Someone must be punished for killing the other vampires and it is up to her to decide.  In this, not everyone wins and I am hoping to create some tension *gasp* God forbid.

One thing I plan on doing is taking a while off from posting.  Rather than post as I complete I want to take the time to change the plot and make sure everything is consistent.  No name changes half way through and no random points that don’t fit the whole theme.

I can promise that as I go along things are moving much fasted and there will be very little need for Eclipse with the exception of some chapter content here and there.  As per the challenge details I am limiting the saga to 3 books rather than 4 and each new book is much shorter.  Still terrible but less of it.

Enjoy.

  1. EllieAnn
    June 7, 2012 at 12:08 PM

    drowning in adjectives does NOT sound like a good way to die. 😉

  2. June 7, 2012 at 1:59 PM

    Sounds like a great idea, your (Amber’s) “Tell Me A Story”. I always seem to write myself into a corner so maybe I’ll try this idea sometime. Thank you for sharing.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

