Home > Tell Me A Story > Tell Me A Story – Part 1

Tell Me A Story – Part 1

Thank you Amber for the input.  I will keep the introduction short and sweet.  This is Part 1 of the Tell Me A Story series.

Each week I will post on Monday the latest in the series.  At the end of each post will be the next part I need.  You, the readers, will tell me what to write next.

Remember, even if I do not choose your input this round it may show up later on so be on the watch.  For this, the setting is dawn on a grey lake. Also I will be using the name Kadin.

Please note, I will be a little more graphic for this story.  Curse words and the occasional violence.  I am so tired of being vanilla for Twilight.

*****

Part 1

He sat on the edge of the lake.  It was not the first time and much to his anger it would not be the last.  It was certainly the saddest.  God this sucked.

“Kadin, come inside.” A voice said.  It’s owner sat next to him.  Her eyes were red, and her eyes were glassy.  She sniffed and looked at him.

“I cannot do this alone.  Please, come inside.”

He looked back at the house, lifeless in the dawn light.  Soon enough relatives would be running about, getting ready for the ceremony.

He sighed.  “Amber, I cannot do this.  I cannot look at them all and say this was peaceful.  I cannot lie to their faces.”

“You don’t know what happened.  Look, just let it pass.  I want this to be over.”

“No!” Kadin shouted, his voice startling a still sleeping rodent.  “Damn you, we both know she was murdered and I will not just let this pass.”

She rounded on him, fresh tears on her face.  “Don’t say that.  Don’t you fucking dare.  If you had the guts to take care of this in the first place then she would be alive.  It is your fault she died now you had better be there for the funeral.”

He grabbed her arms and shook her.  “You think I don’t know that?  What the hell gives you the right to judge me?  You.  Left.  You took off the first chance you had and hey, I am the idiot for staying behind.”

“Fuck you Kadin.”

She ran into the house and Kadin let her go.  He knew what it cost her to say those words and he knew he had to speak before the casket.  But it was not fair.  Amber had no idea what it cost him to be here, to speak at this funeral for the woman he loved.   Amber had never cared, not once.  No, she had made her way into the city and had made a name for herself.  His once promising career was down the toilet these days.

He turned back to the lake and watched the sun come up.  He wanted to cry.  Everyone expected him to be brave, to be strong but damn them all, they were just watching.  They had no idea what had really happened.  Hell, he did not even know.  One minute she was alive and the next dying by his side.  Now he was stuck with this house.

“I can’t even sell the damn thing,” he said, despair threatening to overcome him.  She had a sense of humor even he could not figure out and she knew what this place meant to him.  Why she thought leaving it to him was a good idea he could not imagine.

Over the lake a loon called, the sound sending shivers down his spine.  He turned and went inside.  Time to write a speech, he thought.

*****

In the next part we have the funeral.  I need a few details.

  1.  Who died?  Name and relation
  2.  What is Kadin’s job?

See you all in a week!

Part 2

  1. May 7, 2012 at 8:45 AM

    Ooh I like this story.

    • May 7, 2012 at 9:04 AM

      Thanks, but I still need to know what the next part should have. Any ideas?

  2. May 7, 2012 at 12:43 PM

    Kadin’s partner Sarah died. She was Amber’s sister and she was murdered in retribution for something Amber did. The killers (maybe they’re supernatural creatures?) will be coming after Amber next.

    • May 7, 2012 at 1:39 PM

      Nice but no super natural in this story. Next time haha. I like the Amber part of it, never thought of that. Feel free to like any other comments you think are good for future parts.

  3. June 7, 2012 at 3:46 PM

    Interesting story! I think he could slip out what really happened that day and shock the crowd or as he is about to speak, the person who killed her enters…. oooh drama!

    • June 7, 2012 at 3:59 PM

      Yea, I think I will post tomorrow. That may happen later but for now I need to see if Amber goes after Kadin or William

  1. May 14, 2012 at 10:24 AM
  2. June 4, 2012 at 10:02 AM
  3. June 26, 2012 at 4:20 PM

Leave a Reply

