Home > Flash Fiction > 100 Word Challenge – Flash Fiction – Fishing Trips

100 Word Challenge – Flash Fiction – Fishing Trips

Following the lead of my writing friend J Keller Ford I am participating in a word challenge. This is featured on the blog of Julia where she started the 100 Word Challenge for Grown Ups.  There is a phrase prompt as seen below:

….I’m exhausted. Shut the door behind you….

This is written as a sort of tribute to my uncle who recently passed away.  He had suffered from a brain aneurysm in August and suffered for 7 months before dying in March.  He was only in his late forties.  This is for those left behind.

Enjoy the story!

____________________________________________

I climbed into bed. She was already there, fast asleep. I moved the cat over and settled into my favorite spot. Jude was right behind me. He had been nice enough to drive the last stretch home but it was late and both of us were beat.

“I’m exhausted,” I said. “Shut the door behind you please.”

He did and came to bed. I finally cried after the funeral. The cat joined us and I fell asleep. The next day was like any other. Only my uncle was gone. I remembered the fishing trips and smiled.

Life always goes on.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

