Home > Flash Fiction > I have missed the Rain

I have missed the Rain

On a day like today it is nice to just watch the rain fall.  Here in New Jersey it started late last night.  It poured, then it stopped.  Now it is a steady rain and I realize I missed it despite the wet winter.  Something about those April showers and how rain means Spring is here.

 

Enjoy a little poem I wrote.

 

April Showers Bring May Flowers

 

Kidding!  I can’t rhyme very well, it is not a talent I posses.  Same for spelling but at least I have spell check for that.

 

I have missed the rain

It falls outside my window,

Pure and clean.

It brings a promise of tomorrow

It does not bring hate, or death

It does not feel

It does not hurt

It is simple and full of life.

It brings a lesson.

Rain cannot be stopped

Rain is.

 

People stay inside

People fear the rain

They do not like to be wet

And it is inconvenient

But where would we be without it?

We would not have plants, or water

We would not have food

We would not appreciate the sun

And the warmth on our faces

We would die.

 

I have missed the rain.

 

What are your thoughts on rain?

  1. April 22, 2012 at 4:26 PM

    I love both walking in the rain and reading a book inside by the window while the rain falls outside. I’ve always found rain comforting.

  2. April 22, 2012 at 7:45 PM

    Indeed, rain is peaceful even when it pours. Also I spent my day watching end of the world disaster movies so I appreciate the whole “rain is life” thing.

  3. April 24, 2012 at 9:44 PM

    First of all… I’ve been following on email for a while… culture shock jumping back here. What a totally new look on your blog! Holy change-orama, Batman!

    I live in New Jersey too. I was just glad that they were able to finish fixing my roof before it started. Now I just need to deal with a flooded backyard and a really muddy poodle!

    My family is all dying from allergies, so they were glad to see the rain. Rain makes me happy because my husband and sons stop having stuffy noses.

    • April 25, 2012 at 8:04 AM

      I suppose you could say… I revamped it?

      Kidding. Too bad about the allergies but glad you guys had a break for a few days. I forgot you are in South Jersey.

  1. April 22, 2012 at 2:38 PM
  2. April 28, 2012 at 10:33 PM

Leave a Reply

