Home > WANA > Liebster Blog Award – Thank you!

Liebster Blog Award – Thank you!

Good morning

I have been pretty bad.  I was on track for NaNo and towards the end I had no drive.  I also fell off the blog wagon and Twitter suffered.  Yet I still have support and I want to thank those of you who kept cheering me on and being examples of awesome.

I have a theory.  This past month I ended up losing my job.  Darn lay-offs.  It is funny how when I was working at the office and baby sitting I still made an effort to meet my goals.  Once I had the free time I had no desire to write.  My theory is if I fail at a job then it could be caused by the work load or things I cannot control.  I can put my best effort in but outside forces are keeping me from success.  If I write a book and fail as a writer it is just me.  There are few involved in writing that first draft so if I produce crap then that is what I get back.

I think it was worse because I still had the support of my boyfriend and family.  Every time he asked how the writing was I would change the subject.  Other writers and tweeps would pop in to say hi and I tried to keep up with them but a good portion of my time went to playing FB games and applying for jobs.

What changed?  Epiphany.  Even if it is the most obvious concept, that single word can change a lot.  When Smee told Hook to win over Pan’s kids that changed the whole storyline of that movie.  When you the writer connect certain dots, or your character does, it can change the entire story.  My epiphany?  I needed to decide if I really want to be a writer.  I needed to say this is not just a hobby, this is a career and I need to make it work.  So I lost my job?  I have writer on my resume.  It is time to back that up.

To start, I was recently awarded the Liebster Blog Award.  Quoting the person who gave it to me

“I’ve trawled the net trying to find info about the award but there doesn’t seem to be a website dedicated to the award which is odd! What I did find out is that it’s an award given to up and coming bloggers with less than 200 followers by a blogger that feels that they (the nominee) deserves more recognition and more follower”

The rules are as follows:

  1. Thank the blogger that awarded you and link them.  I don’t know the name but thank you for this guy/girl!
  2. No counter nominating allowed
  3. Mention up to 5 other bloggers that you think deserve the award and leave a comment on their blog
  4. Copy the award to your blog

So here it goes.  Drum roll please……. The winners are:

Maggie gets to be first because she has been one of my earliest followers and her blog is full of links to sites to help your writing.  Call her a blog nutritionist if that is not too cheesy

Mark Landon who can be reached at http://www.marklanden.com/ or on Twitter @MarkLandon – He popped up one day on my feed and it has been fun enabling each other ever since.

Kate, who I found one day while hating a certain book series, is one of the most hilarious people I have seen online.  Her snarky review of the Twilight Saga has kept me from drinking before 9 AM as she has proven there is hope for HS Freshmen.

Jillion Dodd caught my eye with a hot pink everything and I think it was thanks to Twitter suggestions.  Anyway, she was wise enough to post a few chapters of her book called Crack That Boy.  I was hooked and wanted more.  She was kind enough to grant me an interview which you can find here.

Last but not least I am sending a shout out to my newest follower Emma.  I loved her review of BD and plan on going over her other posts now that I have more free time ;P

Congrats you guys, now pass it along!

Next order of business is to write at least 2k words before bed tonight.  I have a novel to finish and I am 300 words shork of 30k.  WOOOOOO!!!!!!!!

Happy writing, Happy holidays and thank you all ^_^

  1. December 1, 2011 at 12:42 PM

    Fantastic! Congratulations to all of you!

  2. December 1, 2011 at 1:10 PM

    Thank you for nominating me!

    And sometimes big events like job losses really can spark your creativity and help you in ways you didn’t think were possible. Keep your mind open! 🙂

  3. December 3, 2011 at 10:04 AM

    Oh, wow, Jennifer, so sorry to hear about the job. I lost mine 1 1/2 years ago and haven’t been able to find anything since. I hope that is not the case with you.

    Don’t feel bad about NaNo and the blogging thing. I, too, failed to complete NaNo – life got in the way of that one, and I haven’t been blogging as much because I’m really working on getting my novel back in the hands of a publisher. You’ve made remarkable strides in what you have accomplished and don’t take that away from yourself.

    Congrats on the award. This downtime from work will open all kinds of new doors and possibilities. For me, it has allowed me to finish my novel which led to a submission, an ask for a full MS, an ask for a revision and a re-submit. Not too shabby. All things happen for a reason. Just hold on to your dreams and never lose sight of them. To quote one of my favorite songs ever (and yes, it’s Disney),

    “Have faith in your dreams and someday, your rainbow will come shining through, no matter how your heart is grieving, if you keep on believing, the dream that you wish will come true”.

  4. December 15, 2011 at 8:53 PM

    Sorry about your job. That really sucks. I’ve also had to tell myself that if I really want to be a published author, then I need to write even when I don’t feel like it. I’m really bad with procrastination and I have a short attention span, so it’s easy for me to put it off. I’ve been doing good this week and I’m hoping to keep it up. I hope your novel is going well.

  5. December 18, 2011 at 11:22 PM

    Congratulations on the award!
    You need to post a little badge in your side bar or somthing…. just a little tidbit to make yo smile every time you open up your blog.
    Hope everything works out!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

