Home > NaNoWriMo > NaNoWriMo is Nothing Like I Expected

NaNoWriMo is Nothing Like I Expected

Good morning!

Quick update for everyone then back to the slave writing seat.

NaNoWriMo has started and I am a little behind.  Ok a lot.

Day 1 – 1000 possibly

Day 2 – 1500 about

Day 3 – 900 more or less

Basically I need to write about 3000 more words today in order to be on track.  I am trying to push for a lot more tomorrow at the write in.  Super excited to see fellow NaNo’s

What I have written so far I am not the biggest fan of.  Then again I did not like my early blogging and flash fiction and with time and practice they got better.  I am not that worried about the beginning.  I will say that turning off the inner editor is f***ing hard!  I keep wanting to go back and edit and its much harder than I thought.

That is all for now, I will do a ROW update on Sunday and try to post one of my pre-written posts on Tuesday.

Have fun and good luck anyone else in NaNo mode!

  1. November 4, 2011 at 7:24 AM

    Oh, I’m the same with my inner editor … I want to read it all again and fix it! lol

    I don’t think I have you as buddie right? Add me: http://www.nanowrimo.org/en/participants/juliana_haygert

    And good luck! We’ll be cheering for the 3k words today 😉

  2. November 4, 2011 at 7:43 AM

    ‘Turning off the inner editor is f***ing hard’ – too true. But I found that the first time I did NaNoWrioMo, it was what helped me finally turn them off. I’d been editing for a long time, so I reached a point where I would write a few paragaphs and then decide they were rubbish, and delete the whole thing. NaNoWrioMo helped me put the editor back in his rightful place, although he’s desperate to get to work on what I’ve written! Good luck with your word count 🙂

  3. November 4, 2011 at 7:45 AM

    I think I’ve managed to beat my inner editor into submission so far.

    Good luck!

  4. November 4, 2011 at 7:47 AM

    Juliana – added and I am in awe of how much writing you did already.
    Maggie – Nice! Those inner editors will be allowed out soon enough lol

  5. November 4, 2011 at 10:14 AM

    When I saw how many words you had to type, I wondered how I would be to live with by the end of the month. Oh, no. I never stress. LOL! I am using the NANO energy to try and finish the book I am writing. I need around 30,000 and even that will be insane!!
    I tweeted the same problem of editing as I go and DivorcedZen suggested not looking at the screen. Great tip!
    Thank you so very much for putting me on your Authors List! You made my day!!

  6. November 4, 2011 at 11:09 AM

    My inner editor is killing me too. I’m actually behind now as well. I’ve had too much going on, but a friend and I were discussing NaNo the other night and she said, It’s not about winning or losing but about seeing how many words you can write. True words indeed! Anyway, good luck, Jen! 🙂

  7. Jen
    November 4, 2011 at 4:40 PM

    I wrote like a fiend for the first two days because I knew my grand-daughter was coming for 3 days and wouldn’t get a chance to write. Mine doesn’t read all that well, either, but the point is to get it down…then go back and edit later. You can do this!

  8. November 4, 2011 at 7:30 PM

    What you need to do is write like you are watching TV. You cannot go back… you cannot think abour what happened. Just move forward. Then when it is all over, you can look at the C#**p that you wrote and edit it into something readable… which will probably take longer than writing it, if you are anything like me. Keep trucking! 🙂

  9. November 4, 2011 at 7:50 PM

    Haha I love the simile. It is getting easier and I am starting to hit my stride. Finally hitting my word goals plus it is only day 4. All you other Nanites are doing pretty well too.

    Keep it up!

  1. November 6, 2011 at 2:47 PM

Leave a Reply

