Home > NaNoWriMo > Do You Want Cheese or a Book? Plot Hole Sammich with Swiss Please

Do You Want Cheese or a Book? Plot Hole Sammich with Swiss Please

NCI swiss cheese

Image via Wikipedia

Hi everyone. 

8 days including today until NaNoWriMo officially starts!  Next Sunday will have a lot of kick off parties, writer style.  Um, if anyone knows what that entails please let me know.  Otherwise I am just going to show up with a small notebook in hand and a flask of vodka Red Bull.

I was getting some outlining done when I discovered some major Swiss cheese action.  I am talking plot holes.  Major ones.  The kind that if not addressed ASAP means some major amputation and reconstructive surgery later on.  Not fun so let’s try to clean up now. 

So my character needs to get out of town.  She gets into a feisty argument with my BBT (Big Boss Troublemaker) who pretty much says to get out and never come back.  Very Lion King, I know.  But there was almost no build up.  The argument was out of the blue.  So I needed to make sure I had more instances of mini conflict where MC and BBT grow to dislike each other more and more. 

Then my other bigger plot hole rears its ugly head.  When MC needs to get out of town she decides to go with this other guy.  Who just happened to be leaving anyway.   Wait a second.  He happens to be leaving at the same time?  Why, how come all of a sudden this guy feels like taking off?  Um, where is my credibility and why has it taken a vacation?  So I had to go back and point out instances where the priest guy says he has to leave to complete training to be full priest.  Eventually he needs to return home.  He has already asked my mc to join him so she will stop acting like a love sick fool over a dumb jock guy.  The fight is the tipping point to leave. 

 

This is my first book.  Even if I mess it up beyond repair I plan on avoiding as many silly mistakes as possible.  One of my biggest pet peeves is the convenience method.  I do not want something to happen just when I need it.  I want there to either be a reason or some sort of build up to that choice.  In some cases I want to force my MC to do something she won’t like because nothing should be a piece of cake. 

Conflict is key.  Being easy won’t sell a story and I am not talking money.  If everything is easy it gets boring.  If you are bored with a book there is an 80% chance you won’t tell anyone about that book and if you do it is to say how dull it was.  Yes I am making up statistics. 

********

In other news, Halloween frenzy is kicking up a notch.  On Saturday I tried going to a nightfall corn maze near my house.  9 PM I showed up with Glenn and my sister.  The ticket line to get in the maze put Six Flags to shame.  It was so packed that waiting an hour in the cold just did not seem like a fun idea.  

Also this weekend, my one kitty has finally lost her neck rolls.  Molly was so fat when I got her that she had these neck fat rolls and it was bad.  Now that she is on a much leaner diet plus getting some exorcise she has less trouble jumping into my lap and her body is noticeably thinner.  Seems both of us have that Get-In-Shape goal. 

Back to outlining, happy writing everyone!

  1. October 24, 2011 at 12:38 PM

    Good luck patching up those plot holes!

  2. October 24, 2011 at 12:45 PM

    First, happy happy joy joy for skinnier kitty! She’ll feel much better now that some of the weight is gone.

    As for your story, yes, we all have to worry about holes, but don’t wig too much. NaNo is a chance to force yourself to write and get your story down in 30 days. Like I’ve reminded other participants in NaNo (especially newbies like me), don’t expect to write a perfect novel in 30 days. There are going to be edits, maybe even additional chapters to write. The main thing is to write and write and write…at the rate of around 1700 words a day. The thought makes my head spin!

    We’re going to get through this, right? My handle on NaNo is Slavandria. Hope to see you there. We’ll give each other support to keep us going every day, okay?

  3. October 24, 2011 at 1:01 PM

    Thank you both! So far my plot holes are fixed in the outline, just a matter of the actual writing.

    Not too concerned about anything besides word count but if I can avoid a silly mistake I will. I plan on editing pretty much the entire first ROW in 2012.

    Other than that just super psyched to start already! I am Writerchic88 so check me out when you start.

  4. October 24, 2011 at 9:05 PM

    You know what? Many people say to “just write your first book” and put it on a shelf and move on to your next one. The first one is definitely a learning experience. Just write and enjoy, and learn along the way. Do your best, and enjoy yourself. If it’s good, GREAT. If not, no biggie. You learned from the first. Good luck!

  5. March 28, 2012 at 11:41 AM

    You know, my friend jacqui had the second “plot hole” actually happen to her. She was going from Lima, Peru, to Cuzco, Peru, and a guy she had just met in a bar was going the same direction the same day, and they’ve been together (on and off) ever since

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

