Home > WANA > ROW80 Check in – Not Great, Not Bad, Kinda Ugly

ROW80 Check in – Not Great, Not Bad, Kinda Ugly

Good morning.

This week I was a little bad.  It was one of the times when my boss gave a lot of extra work which I won’t get paid for AND it takes away from my actual job.  It was also a job that could have been done already but they decided to wait till now to give it to me.  SO after staring at my computer all day by the time I got home I just wanted to read and sit.  I avoided typing and excel sheets and word.

I DID try to hop around and tweet to people.

What was surprising is I added a few more goals and did a bunch of work for NaNo.

Goal – Check in Every Sunday
Meeting ^_^

Goal – Outline for Hellawes
Yesterday I babysat for the most amazingly cute child.  He was a total giggle machine and he liked to dance on the table.  While he napped I wrote.  And wrote.  And outlined.  And wrote some more.  I came up with a few more pages of short paragraphs and I am almost to a major conflict scene.  So far it is building nicely.

Goal – Write at least 1000 words a day
Needless to say I am having some issues with that goal.  What I am doing more of is my flash fiction.  In fact I wrote one last night which I really want to share tomorrow morning to kick off the week.

Goal – Write Query for Fish and send out by October 30th
SO I wrote a query.  I hated it.  I wrote more.  I did not think it was good.  Write delete write delete in a vicious cycle.  No worries, I have been looking over sample letters and I have an idea of what I want to say, it is just a matter of getting it on paper.  But really, I have the dummy book, I have 3 gorgeous illustrations, I have a separate manuscript.  The query is all that is left.

New Goal – Comment on at least 5 blogs per day
I like this one.  It means I have to be social.  I get to encourage other ROWers and bloggers in general.  It also boosts my reading AND I can do it at work in short spurts.  WIN!  Also I already do this so it won’t be hard to continue.

New Goal – Get in shape
This is a haha goal.  It should not even have to be a goal I should just be doing it.  But after watching that wonderful child and playing with him then waking up sore from the lifting?  I need to work out.  Middle and arms mostly.  But we shall see.  Running would also be good.

 

Btw, the flash fiction is based on a dream I had.  More on that later but it is seriously freaky!

Happy Writing everyone!

  1. October 16, 2011 at 9:06 PM

    I love when people add to their goals to stay in shape. I wish I had the time. I just spend the weekend camping and we hiked about 5 miles with the kids and dog. That’s the most exercize I’ve gotten in about a year. Too bad you can’t type and walk at the same time. Then I’d be set!

    • Jen
      October 21, 2011 at 8:28 PM

      walk and type at the same time? LOL!!! Now I’d exercise if I could do that.

      Ugh, I’m trying. It’s been so hot here but now with the cooler weather settling in, I have no excuse.

      Jennifer R, I think you’re doing great with your goals. Don’t beat yourself up if you don’t meet them. tomorrow is always a new day!

  2. October 16, 2011 at 9:17 PM

    Love the new goals, especially the exercise one. While I am just starting back at that myself I had a good run during Round 3 and the added energy made all the difference.

    Here’s to hoping that the coming week is a great one for you 🙂

  3. October 17, 2011 at 5:55 PM

    Fantastic goals! Don’t worry — we all have good and bad weeks. You are achieving some of your goals and that’s what matters. The rest will come later 🙂 Good luck, I’m cheering for you, Jennifer.

  4. October 18, 2011 at 10:50 AM

    This is great, Jen! I didn’t realize you were so into writing! I’m afar from a pro but feel free to shoot a few questions my way if you have any!

    As for flash fiction, any suggestions? I’m not really sure how one would define it. How do yo get ideas for your flash fiction? I should really write more daily. I have the time. I have two stories that I’m working on and as with any story, I won’t know if they’ll be published until they are. But I feel that maybe this has hindered me somewhat to writing.

    Now, as I write this post I’m thinking that maybe every day I should write a random scene from said story. Out of order, random, maybe something I’ll take out later. st to get some writing in and explore the story more. That sounds fun! I’m excited. 🙂

  5. October 18, 2011 at 12:10 PM

    LOL please do not ask me for a lot of advice on flash fiction. Most of it is 100% pantsing and aside from sticking to a specific word count I do not put a lot of thought into it. What I do is set a word limit. Every single word must count and I am not able to just use filler words.

    As far as inspiration, a few of them have a backstory on why I wrote, most because of a dream.

    But really, check out Brenda Drake she has the occasional flash fiction contest to try out. Also Susie Lindau. Both are on the side panel. Enjoy =D

  1. October 19, 2011 at 4:38 AM
  2. October 23, 2011 at 11:25 AM

Leave a Reply

