Home > NaNoWriMo > ROW Check In

ROW Check In

Good morning,

So I have been pretty bad about this ROW.  I had to go back and check what my goals even were.

Outline for NaNoWriMo and general prep

  • I got lazy and am debating pantsing the whole thing.  I have the beginning started in outline form but I really want to be surprised on how this goes.
  • I am still keeping my word count up.  Some days more but I just did an interview of over 2000 words so that will count for a few days.

Participate in NaNo

  • Well that is not till November.
  • Still in training and blogging.  Pending posts were a good idea.

Edit NaNo project

  • Again, see above.
  • I am editing some old projects and posting Flash Fiction so I can edit later on a little easier.

All in all, I am not happy with my progress.

 

On the plus side I have been much more active with people on social media and it is starting to pay off.  As I just said, I did a fun interview and those networking skills are paying off.  18 followers FTW

This week I will see if I cannot come up with some better goals that I can both follow and measure.

Thank you everyone.

  1. October 9, 2011 at 9:31 AM

    Don’t be too hard on yourself, after all, most of your goals are set into Nov/Dec. As far as pantsing NaNo, that could be tough. While I am not advocating a full blown 100 page outline (which would be a bit much), having a good idea of story concept, characters and story milestones will keep the writing on track through November and still leave plenty of room to be “surprised”.

    All the best for the coming week 🙂

    By the way, thanks for the Picard clip you left in my comments. Hilarious!

    • October 9, 2011 at 9:25 PM

      Any time. I loved Voyager more but Picard was fantastic. No idea where I first found that video or why but glad you enjoyed

  2. October 9, 2011 at 8:50 PM

    I’m the same as you. I have a basic idea of where I want to go, but it’s more fun “not knowing” and seeing what happens every time you start typing. The only problem is, you end up having to edit heavily later when you “pants” something. It’s worth the fun of writing it that way, though.

  3. October 13, 2011 at 9:18 AM

    ooh, I didn’t realize you planned on doing NaNo too! super! I don’t think I’ll be participating this year, but I plan on cheerleading! My badge from last year was removed once nanowrimo.org updated their site 😦 but I still have my username, etc, so I’ll find you on there! yay! *waves pom poms*

  1. October 16, 2011 at 9:55 AM
  2. October 23, 2011 at 11:25 AM

Leave a Reply

