Home > Contest, Interview > Author Interview: Jillian Dodd and That Boy

Author Interview: Jillian Dodd and That Boy

Good morning everyone. 

Once a month I would like to highlight an Indie author and his or her book.  Today I would like you all to meet Jillian Dodd.  I found her on Twitter, followed the digital paper trail and discovered her book That Boy.

Jillian please tell us a little about yourself.

I’m a Nebraska girl, currently living in Texas.  I have two teenagers, a great husband and two dogs. You can read more about me on my blog at http://www.jilliandodd.wordpress.com. I’ve been a voracious reader my whole life and enjoy writing, painting, and college football. I’m working on the sequel which is called That Wedding, as well as a six book series. That Wedding will be released in January and the first book in the new series, tentatively titled, The Keatyn Chronicles, should be ready to go in March! I’m so glad we connected on twitter and thanks for having all of us today!

Wow looks like you have a lot planned out.  I am super excited for the sequel.  For those of you that do not know, That Boy is a sweet coming of age story.  We get to grow up alongside JJ, Danny, and Phillip as they experience some of life’s most wonderful and most difficult moments.  Together the three form a strong unit of family, friendship, and love.  They prove that some friendships do last forever.
I was honored to be able to interview each of them myself.  Please welcome the cast of That Boy!

*Round of applause, while Danny, JJ and Phillip walk into the room.  They fill up the other chairs next to Jillian*
Danny is wearing blue jeans with a vintage Husker’s t-shirt, that’s perfectly molded across his broad chest, and a grey hoodie.  He flashes a smile.  It is a good thing I am sitting or my knees might give way. 
JJ looks gorgeous in a pair of low rise jeans, heels, and a ruffled peach top.  She has some major sparkle on her left hand and an adorable silver charm bracelet on her right.
Phillip is wearing a plain white t-shirt under an unbuttoned and untucked pale blue polo oxford shirt, khaki shorts, and Sperrys with no socks, despite the chill October air.  He sits next to JJ and holds her left hand.

Good morning, how are you all doing?

Jadyn replies, “We’re great! Thanks for having us!”

Ok, well I have a few questions for each of you, does anyone want to go first?

*Jadyn and Danny both start yammering to go first*

Calm down you two.  I guess I will ask.  Jillian, I love that you wrote in first person present.  How did you know this was the right voice for JJ?

I really connected with Jadyn. I wanted the readers to go through her life with her. To be able to experience what she was going through and how she felt. I’m an extremely avid reader. I love feeling like I’m one of the characters in a book. I like knowing what’s going on in a character’s head and feeling their emotions with them. I also think that is part of my writing voice. The new series that I’m working on is also written that way.

I really like it and the result was good.  Relatable characters are always more fun.  JJ, as the girl in this trio did you ever feel the need to prove yourself?  Who is your ideal audience? 

*JJ’s long legs are crossed. She looks at Danny for a moment, then puts her elbow on her leg and leans her chin into her hand. She turns her blue eyes on me and admits*
I’m kinda competitive.
*Danny and Phillip both cough*Bullshit.
Okay, fine. I’m very competitive. I like to win. I mean, who doesn’t? So the answer is yes. I’m always trying to prove myself. I think we all are in some way in our lives.
The ideal audience for the book, That Boy, is anyone who wants to hang out with a couple hot guys for awhile and who is romantic and likes to fall in love. In the book, you learn that I love to read. I even quote my favorite book in That Boy. (It’s Our Town.) I love books where I can just lose myself, forget about my life, go on an adventure, and fall in love.

Well that sounds like a good life.  Speaking of hot boys, Danny you’re next.  Some parts of the book had me laughing so much.  What is your best memory from this book?  Does it have anything to do with your happy news at the end?

I thought you said my happy ending, sorry. *He snickers*
JJ laughs out loud, says,“Danny, this is an interview. Get your mind out of the gutter!”
Phillip rolls his eyes.
Well, I thought that’s what she said. I was a little worried about where this interview was heading. I mean I do have a very conservative image to uphold.
Phillip says, You are so full of it. Jennifer, please forgive them. Danny answer the question.

Thank you Phillip.  Danny?

Fine. Well, that was a big shocker! I am very excited about it, but really, the whole book is full of some of the best memories of my life. Although there really isn’t enough about my football career in there. Maybe we should do a book like that. All about me.
Jadyn,“That would be too boring.”
P
hillip, “She’s got a point.”
Whatever, back to the question. I’d say one of my favorite memories is when Jay punched me when I first moved next door. I’d never had a girl as a friend and that day really set in motion our lifelong friendship. I’m grateful I have these two in my life. Well, I’m grateful for Phillip. Jay’s kinda a pain. (He laughs. Jadyn flips him off.)  The rest of it is mostly great stuff to like tease her about. Teaching her to french kiss. A little white lie that caused her to finally do something had needed to do FOREVER! Stuff like that. She owes me. Like Big.

Gotcha, well I certainly hope for all the happiness in the world for you.  Phillip, I have to know your secret.  The entire book you have your hands full with these two.  How do you do it?

Phillip chuckles. You’re right. An egomaniac and a girl who thinks she never needs to be rescues, but always finds herself in situations that she does.
*JJ sticks out her tongue at Phillip, but it is easy to see she cares for him.  Danny rolls his eyes.*
Honestly, I don’t think I did anything that special. We’re great friends, who always have each other’s backs. But those two do know how to get in trouble, that’s for sure. You’d think I’d be smart enough to know better, but they both seem to always convince me that it’ll be fun. Danny bought Jadyn a magnet one Christmas. It said the trouble with trouble is that is always starts out with fun. That pretty much sums up our growing up.

Haha, well good for you.  Jillian it must have been a lot of fun to write about these three but you must have a favorite.  Please share.  With a cherry on top?

*Jillian looks fondly at her cast*
Each one of them is special, but I’d have to say I relate to Jadyn the best. I am a girl too after all!

Well yes, I suppose that makes it the easiest to relate.  All of them turned out pretty ok.  With one exception.  Danny, I have to know.  Do you ever worry about anything?  It seems like even when you are nervous you are confident and *cough* perfect. 

*Phillip and JJ laugh, while Danny throws a quick glare at them*
I’d say that’s one thing that Jay and I share. We have good game faces. I’d say overall I am usually pretty confident, but sure, I get nervous about a lot of stuff. I try to turn the nerves into positive energy though, especially on the football field. There have been a few times in my life I’ve been really nervous. One being when I proposed. That was crazy. Prom night was another night I was kinda a wreck.

Perfectly understandable, I was biting my nails through the whole scene.  Phillip, it’s obvious through the entire story how much you care about JJ.  *He looks at her as I speak* Tell me, did you ever wonder about your friendship being damaged? 

*Phillip rolls his shirt sleeves up while he considers his answer.  JJ looks a little nervous but Danny grins knowingly*
Since you know the story, you know how things went in Cancun. It started out so great, but then things just went to shit. Amazing how that happens after too many shots, huh, Princess? I’d say that was the only time I was ever really mad at her, but it’s hard to be mad at someone who has black tears running down their face and is throwing their sandals randomly on the beach. It’s kinda funny to think about now. The short answer to your question is no. I’ve never worried about damaging our friendship. It’s too strong. We’ve been through too much together not to always be close.
Danny rolls his eyes “Not that they don’t try to be closer”

She certainly made you sweat in the end.  I am happy with how it turned out.  This brings me back to you JJ.  After everything that has happened you seem to always land on your feet.  Now that you have a lot of planning to do, any chance we can get a sneak peek for the sequel?

Well, we’re planning our wedding! It’s exciting!
Phillip shakes his head and says, “Um, we really haven’t done that much planning.”
“That’s true. But that’s YOUR fault. He can’t keep his hands off me. For years, no matter how much I flirted with him, nothing! Now, he can’t keep his hands off me. But back to the wedding. I’m told I need a theme, but I really haven’t been able to come up with one yet. I’m told I need to set a date, but honestly, we need to have like a second or third date before I’ll feel comfortable doing that.” She looks at Phillip, “And no. Going to watch football at Hooters does not count as a date.”

I dunno about that.  Your first date was like 5 months wrapped up in one night, plus you don’t need to get to know each other like most couples.  Either way I cannot wait to see what happens next.  Well that is all we have time for, but any last words?

Danny replies. “The book, That Wedding, is going to be intense. In That Boy, you got to see little pieces of our lives, over a long period of time. Like from fifth grade to graduating from college. In That Wedding, the story follows us from September until mid January, so you get to see more of how goofy we are on a day to day basis. All the silly texts Jay sends me, how she freaks out about planning her wedding, how naughty she really can be. And you get to hear more about my career, my life, and more about how my happy news affects me. It should be great fun. Oh, and I’m planning the bachelor party, and Phillip is going to have fun whether he wants to or not. Just saying.”

Uh huh, because I really wanted to know more about you.  Thank you so much guys and good luck!

Everyone please check out Jillian and her book. 

For each one of you who enters we are doing an e-book giveaway.  The book is available on the below formats as well as pdf.   

  • Kindle
  • Nook Color
  • iBooks

How to win? 
Comment here and you get one chance to win.
Tweet about this page and you get a second chance.  Just make sure to put @JJ_Randolph and @JillianDodd in the tweet!
Saturday morning I will contact the winner and tell you what you need to do.

Good luck!

Categories: Contest, Interview
  1. Jillian Dodd - Glitter, Bliss and Perfect Chaos
    October 7, 2011 at 10:01 AM

    Thanks for having us on your blog today!!

    • October 7, 2011 at 10:14 AM

      Any time, this was fun and a new experience. Thank you so much for being my first interview =)

  2. October 7, 2011 at 11:12 AM

    This interview kept me laughing! I loved it, and That Boy sounds amazing! I’d love to win a copy. 😉 I’m headed over to tweet about it now!

  3. Melanie
    October 7, 2011 at 3:43 PM

    I do not have twitter but I do have tumblr. Therefore I will put through there ! Good Job! 🙂 Proud of you girl!

  4. Jackie @Jackiebkworm
    October 7, 2011 at 9:40 PM

    Really cute & funny interview. Really enjoyed it, makes me want to read the book.

  5. October 7, 2011 at 9:43 PM

    That was one of the more fun interviews I’ve read, Jen. Good job, and don’t let anyone talk you into getting stuffy if you keep getting the chance to do this. The book sounds great. Congratulations to all!

  6. October 8, 2011 at 12:10 PM

    We have a winner! Congrats Jennifer M Eaton!

  7. October 12, 2011 at 5:49 PM

    That was such a fun interview! Thanks for sharing it!!

  8. October 13, 2011 at 5:37 AM

    Thank you Whitney, glad you liked. Sorry you missed the contest but once a month I plan to do an interview and a giveaway. Maybe you will be next?

  1. December 1, 2011 at 12:32 PM

Leave a Reply

