Home > Uncategorized > Selling BS – It’s a Living

Selling BS – It’s a Living

Hi guys. 

My name is Jennifer and I am addicted to writing.  It is my crack.  So is breaking down Twilight but that is more of a sadistic need.  Check out this blog for a chapter by chapter massacre breakdown.

 Any way.  I do not know if you are aware, but there is a fantastic site online called Cracked.com and it is amazing.  It is funny, witty and very intelligent.  Also it is a little sociopathic and sadistic.  One of the authors wrote a book called John Dies in the End which basically gives away the ending.  Why does it do this?  Read here  for a better explanation.

 

All done?  I hope you enjoyed that.  Ok now stop hopping around on the site; I know how addicting it is.  Better to go cold turkey.

 People buy BS.  We do it a lot.  It is how a lot of companies make money.  They market in a way that convinces us to buy that product.  It is why we are convinced we have to buy bottled water.  I need to have 500+ channels of OnDemand to make me happy.  I need a Big Mac instead of a cheeseburger.  I need this label because it is better than that label.

 When we write, what are we writing about?  This is a continuation of my earlier blog post of getting from point A to point B.  In a lot of stories the audience is already at point B.  They know how the story ends.  They know John dies.  In Twilight Bella must become a vampmeyer.  In HP Harry is destined to kill Voldemort.  In every romance the couple has to kiss in the end.  Every video game has a final boss that you fight and you finish the game.  Blah blah blah. 

Wait a minute.  I know how this ends already.  How do we beat that?  What is the point?  Well we have some people to thank.  Anyone who ever said “It is not where you go but how you get there” deserves a round of applause.  People want to know how Bella became a Vampmeyer.  People want to know how many stops you took between A and B.  They want conflict and drama and a reason to live.

 My book Hellawes is based on the story of Camelot.  Everyone knows about the Sword in the Stone.  We all know about Arthur and Merlin and Lancelot.  No matter what else happens I have to write about Guinevere and Lancelot having an affair.  Mordred kills Arthur and the Lady of the Lake gets the sword.  Almost everyone dies.  What I have to do is tell the story in a new way.  I have to add a new POV and change some personalities.  No one was there so I get to use my creative license to put a spin on the classic story. 

After that I get to convince people they need to buy my book.  I need to make people love me so much that it is an addiction.  I must fill that empty void in your life you never knew you had.    Ok, so maybe this is all theoretical, but you have to start somewhere.  If your audience knows the ending, why should they buy the book?  Because they need to that is why.  It is a totally better reason than because I said so. 

So to recap it all:
Step one: Write the book. 
Step 2: Create need???
Step 3: Profit! 

I suppose now you want to know how to make that profit.  Well when I finally develop my process I will tell you all about it so you can sell your books too… but it comes at a price.  Just kidding.  Honestly I think that part depends on the writer and his/her story.  8% talent, 50% networking and 42% luck.  Not everyone can make it big but I will remember the little guys from my mansion.

I will tell you this.  Find people who want to read your book and not just the fellow writers you begged.  Find people with a genuine interest in your topic. 

 

Do you have a technique?  How do you market yourself?  If you are super rich already please adopt me.

Happy writing everyone.

  1. October 4, 2011 at 10:58 PM

    Adopt me… You are too funny.

    This is a really great post. Keep up the positive attitude, and here’s to being in that 42%!

    Have you ever read Mists of Avalon? It’s one of my favorites. It’s Camelot told from the POV of the women. It’s a great read… Mabe not historically correct, but still engaging.

    • October 5, 2011 at 5:17 AM

      Thanks =)

      Yes I read Mists, I have most of Bradley’s books on my shelf. It was mostly her book Firebrand that inspired me though. It is basically the Illiod but by changing some personalities of the classic figures and adding a new view point the story takes on a whole other level.

  2. October 5, 2011 at 8:43 AM

    LOL, Jennifer E. Mists of Avalon happens to be on my to-read list from the library. There are 2 others ahead of me to check it out!!!

    Jennifer R, great post. Marketing is probably my weakest point. I have no idea how to make people want to buy my novel. How do I create a need? Does that need to be determined before we write our novels? I need a rich marketeer to market me, too. When you find one, tell him you have several writers you need to include in the adoption package.

    Have you noticed we are all named Jennifer or some variation of it? (I don’t have an -ifer on the end of my name). I wonder if there is some sort of cosmic purpose for this. hmmm 🙂

  3. October 5, 2011 at 9:45 AM

    Possibly because we are all fabulous? You know what they say, some people are born great and they happened to be named Jen (and various versions)

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

