Home > NaNoWriMo > NaNoWriMo Motivation – Pants of Shame

NaNoWriMo Motivation – Pants of Shame

Hi guys.  Again.

It looks like I missed the memo to write about NaNoWriMo today.  Good thing I have some other posts saved up for later.  Here are a few more tips for this glorious challenge.

 

For every day you do not write, you must wear the pants of shame, courtesy of Kristen Lamb  

I was stalking her older posts and saw the picture which of course inspired me. 

 

Terrible right?

I will not be doing it this year but after 2011 NaNoWriMo I may make a pair.  Why in the name of all that is holy?  Why would I do this to myself?

Easy.  I have moral support from my friends.  My boyfriend will push me to do better and my friends will root me on, but they will love me even if I do not finish.  So in order to meet my goal I will set the following rules:

  • For every day missed of writing I must have one picture taken of me in the pants.
  • Failure to meet my weekly goal will result in 2 pictures at the end of said week.
  • For each day of exceeded expectation one picture will be deleted.
  • If I have already met daily goals and exceeded weekly goals, I can have negative pants pictures to use when I slow down.
  • Upon completion of the 50k words being submitted, all pictures of me wearing said pants shall be deleted from existence. 
  • When not in use, the pants will be buried in my closet with the rest of my shameful secrets.

 To add to that I have the following goals:

  • Daily – 1666 word minimum, attempt 2000.
  • Weekly – 11,662 word minimum, attempt 14,000
  • Halfway point is 25k by November 15th but I am taking off three days (9, 10, 11).  I will attempt to have at least 35k by the 15th
  • Done by midnight November 30th.  Hopefully sooner so I have time to sleep.

So we shall see how this works.  If anyone else has an amusing idea for motivation please feel free to share a comment.

  1. lynmidnight
    October 3, 2011 at 6:08 PM

    Ha! I like your style… now that’s dedicated to the craft! I am horrified by the pants, btw. What if you have to go to the shop?!

    • Jennifer J Randolph
      October 3, 2011 at 6:29 PM

      I think for the month of November you are supposed to designate someone to do everything but use the facilities in your place. Chores, errands cooking Etc. Are all to be done by the S/O in your life. It is an unofficial rule.

  2. October 3, 2011 at 6:12 PM

    OMG, those pants are hilarious! And a real guy is wearing them, so they’re….REAL! So funny. Ok, I don’t have pants of shame, but my own conscious does a pretty good job of making me feel bad 😀 Good luck!

    • Jennifer J Randolph
      October 3, 2011 at 6:33 PM

      Agreed. I am hoping those pants were burned after wearing and that the guy was compensated for his shame.

      BTW feel bad or get mad. Just write =D

      • Jennifer J Randolph
        October 3, 2011 at 6:46 PM

        Do not feel mad or bad is what I ment. Womp

  3. October 3, 2011 at 7:16 PM

    Those pants are seven kinds of awesome! Also, I’m thinking it’s a good idea to shame myself into writing. Step One: Buy horrible pants.

    • Jennifer J Randolph
      October 3, 2011 at 7:33 PM

      Are you sure awesome is the word you want to use? I prefer many other adjectives, though I hand it to Kristen Lamb in summing them up as POS. Shaming might be the way to make it in this industry. Makes a great success story. Imagine the speech you give when you win some award haha.

  1. October 9, 2011 at 8:59 AM
  2. October 12, 2011 at 2:42 AM
  3. October 23, 2011 at 11:25 AM

Leave a Reply

