Home > NaNoWriMo > NaNoWriMo Writing Tips – Your Blog Needs Love Too

NaNoWriMo Writing Tips – Your Blog Needs Love Too

Kingston usb flash drive (4GB)

Image via Wikipedia

Hi guys real quick.

For NaNoWriMo training I am trying to write at least 1700 words per day in order to get used to the output.  However I do not think you all want to read every single word every single day.

For those of you also in training here is a tip: write your posts on a Word doc and edit.  Then save on a flash drive for later.  Even if you write a ton each day you can save the extra posts for writers block moments or when you are on overload with other projects.

In addition you will not bury your followers with updates on your blog.  Keep in mind that the people who follow you also follow other writers.  If each of us writes 2000 words every day that is too much and we will not gain popularity.  Stick to 2 to 4 posts a week; it is enough to keep in touch but not drown out your readers.

Don’t forget too, when we are engulfed in novel writing there will not be time to post a blog and create a new topic.  All of your writing energy will go towards the contest and that is a good thing.  By having these extra posts all ready to go we can avoid falling off a cliff dropping out of social media.  Posting updates on Twitter is only part of the social media process.

For those of you amazing enough to post a blog, check Twitter, go to work and still meet every writing goal – you are my god(dess) and I am in awe.

 

For the rest of us, any tips from NaNoWriMo veterans are appreciated.

 

By the way, keeping that flash drive organized is critical.  Have a separate folder for the posts you already put up and a pending folder for the rest.  Reposting is not a bad thing if there are several posts in between but try to avoid repeats.  We will be busy enough with plot structure.

What can you post during this time of stress?

  • Writing tips
  • Short Stories and Flash Ficiton
  • Book Giveaways
  • Exerpts of your progress

 

Don’t forget to use the word count progress on the side of your page so people can cheer you on.

 

Another way to keep up on your goals and not lose sight is to participate in ROW80 with myself and many others.  What is this?  Go to this page for information.

I am signing up for Round 4 which begins October 3.  This gives me the weekend to come up with some goals.

 

Good luck and keep writing!

  1. September 28, 2011 at 6:14 PM

    Good idea! I was thinking about this dilemma the other day. I need to go ahead and get these things written up. I don’t wanna play hide and seek for a whole month. 😉 (Although, no one may try to find me.)

    I’m going to have to get on this. We only have a month! 🙂

    • Jennifer J Randolph
      September 28, 2011 at 6:20 PM

      Go for it! I was thinking about it cause there are days when every hour I have this desire to write anywhere from 500 to 1500 words spread out over various posts. Yesterday I ended up writing well over my goal but today I am feeling a little lax. Plus it is not good to always over load our readers.

      Good luck.

  2. September 28, 2011 at 6:53 PM

    I know. I try to keep my posts short, but there are days when I don’t. So I completely understand. 🙂

    And thanks! Good luck to you too.

  3. Jennifer J Randolph
    September 28, 2011 at 8:27 PM

    Hey thanks. It is nice to have room to randomly follow people and read up on others then write later.

  4. September 28, 2011 at 9:18 PM

    This is excellent advice! I will be “Rowing” away next week and look forward to meeting the gang!!

  5. September 29, 2011 at 5:26 AM

    Great idea! I like the idea of building a stash of writing to pull out as needed. Thanks!

  6. Jennifer J Randolph
    September 29, 2011 at 5:44 AM

    @Susie – I am a new ROWer and not quite sure what will happen since my main focus is NaNo but we shall see. I like that I can do ROW all year long so I won’t be too depressed if I fall off.
    @Steve – Glad I could help =) Seriously, it is really nice to have a post all ready to go. Put it up in the morning and get comments all day =P Plus as Emerald says, we do not want to fall off the grid for too long.

  7. September 29, 2011 at 11:54 PM

    Solid points. Quality over quantity is a great rule of thumb when it comes to blogging…and any published work. 🙂 Best of luck in your pursuits!

  8. Jennifer J Randolph
    September 30, 2011 at 10:44 PM

    Why thank you, the same to you =)

  9. October 3, 2011 at 9:35 AM

    Great tips! I’m going to participate in NaNoWriMo for the first time this year and I’m so excited!

    • Jennifer J Randolph
      October 3, 2011 at 2:52 PM

      Sweet good luck! Any idea what you will do or are you just going to wing it?

  1. October 3, 2011 at 6:00 PM
  2. October 9, 2011 at 8:59 AM
  3. October 17, 2011 at 8:41 AM
  4. October 23, 2011 at 11:25 AM
  5. May 4, 2012 at 10:21 AM

Leave a Reply

