Home > NaNoWriMo > Word Challenge – Training for NaNoWriMo

Word Challenge – Training for NaNoWriMo

Good morning Everyone!

So I had the brilliant idea to write a 50k novel in 30 days along with thousands of other writers.  Cool goal and I actually have a novel in mind.

But in order to write 50k in 30…  The average daily word count is 1666 (I thought it was evil too).  Most of the time when I blog it hovers around 500 words…  So I am following in the footsteps of Inky Elbows AKA Debbie Ridpath Ohi who has a 1750 words challenge.  Complete with badges!

A little about Debbie, I found her on a page printed long ago about the 100 best sites for writers.  I have no idea where the original page is and the hard copy is now a valuable artifact >_>  Oh look here comes Indiana Jones now.  Ok back to Debbie.  I have been following her on Twitter and through other blogs but had never been able to follow her due to my technology deficiency as a young child.  Her blog is adorable with her own comics, advice and a cheerful personality that simply radiates off the page computer screen.

On her words challenge she includes several badges.  I would like all of us to start getting involved in the word training even if you are a hardened author who has seen everything.

The 250 word challenge can be found here, complete with a cute badge ^_^

The 500 word challenge is easily found right about here, and don’t forget the

Same for 1000 words here, with an adorable accessory of

If possible try to follow all three.  My plan is to break it up with a combination of blog posts, stalking and linking to other bloggers and a couple short stories.  If my mind is in the game then maybe I won’t turn into a demon complain when the big kahuna challenge starts.

*****

In other news, I have been devoted to following Kristen Lamb and her latest blog post – a Twitter post from Dr Twuth–  really got me.  Anyone who knows me understands that most tech is a foreign language.  It is strange and I need an experienced guide to navigate the trenches of Twitter.   So she pointed out something that I would have fallen for – validation of who is following me and why it is a BAD idea.  I strongly recommend reading this one, it is not too long but it has a very important point.

*****

Not many updates on Hellawes.  I am still working on getting the basic outline done for the timeline.  I have not even bothered trying to figure out how many chapters and what happens in each.  I probably won’t do that till December so I can find all the good cliff hangers.  Mwahaha

*****

I wish I could write more but work starts in 10 minutes and I am still in pj’s – living 5 minutes away is dangerous but so worth it.  In my defense I was sleepy from the kitties keeping me up plus my better half thought setting the alarm for 4:30 AM and then waking up at 5:30 would be a super idea.  And I still wrote a post =)

My goal is to have a short story of about 250 words and I have promised to write a short story based on my friends birthday picture.  They say a picture is worth 1000 words.  Maybe that can be another challenge to work on, the photo inspiration prompt… Hmmmm

 

Happy writing everyone!

 

  1. Author Kristen Lamb
    September 21, 2011 at 4:05 PM

    Thanks for the shout-out! 😀

  1. September 28, 2011 at 2:17 PM
  2. May 4, 2012 at 10:21 AM

Leave a Reply

