Home > WANA > Subscribing Saves the Day (Again)

Subscribing Saves the Day (Again)

Charlie Bit My Finger – Harry and his little b...

Image via Wikipedia

 **All Links are at the bottom.  WordPress was being bad and won’t let me link to other blogs**

Hi everyone.  I think I am up to four people following but that is only because I (accidentally) followed myself. 

Anyway, the last few weeks have been busy and once again I am guilty of putting my writing on a shelf.  Sure, there was plenty of time to get a few pages out.  During the hurricane I had a flash drive and power but no internet so no distractions of Facebook and Youtube.  But I got wrapped up in my other things to do.  Like pour waffle mix all over the floor so I had to go clean that up(true story).  Then I took all my notebooks and folders and dumped them on the floor so I had to organize them.  Followed by editing a script and giving the stink eye to my kid’s books.  Before I knew it, Sunday evening had arrived and my house was a mess so it had to be fully cleaned for Monday.

What is the point?  The point is multiple projects poses a danger but other writers can help keep you on track.  How?  By subscribing.  By using their advice and lessons and letting them help form good writing habits.  I started out this post because one writer I follow was questioning the wisdom of more than one project.  Her blog post had links to similar posts by other writers. 

By subscribing you open yourself up to a whole world of support, attention and advice.  You learn you are not alone in your wacky writing world.  You connect with one person, and they connect with more people and those doors and windows become a network of people at your disposal. 

You will also learn how to balance your workload by reaching out to people who will keep pushing you forward.  If you share some of what they do there is a good chance they will do some publicity for you.  It is a society of enabling and Darwinism combined.  It is ok to support the new writers but it the fittest best social media plan that makes it.

Anyway, I have a weekend of couch hunting, TV shopping and making sure my two new kitties will be ok in their new home.  Perhaps Monday I can finish Fish once and for all and have her ready for agents and editors alike.

Happy Writing!

Kristen Lamb http://warriorwriters.wordpress.com/
Emerald Barnes http://ebarnes23.wordpress.com/2011/09/01/bang-head-here/
Maggie Madly Writing: Two Is Better Than One
Tamara Paulin  10 reasons not to start a new writing project

 

  1. September 1, 2011 at 10:48 PM

    Thanks for the shout out! Glad you enjoyed my post. 🙂

    • Jennifer J Randolph
      September 1, 2011 at 10:54 PM

      No prob it was good. Keep up the good work =)

  2. September 1, 2011 at 11:43 PM

    Thanks, Jennifer, for the shout out as well. It’s much appreciated! Glad I inspired someone today. 😀

  3. Jennifer J Randolph
    September 1, 2011 at 11:54 PM

    Hehe it was certainly enough for me to make the time to post at least this much rather than sit around my office stalking cat ads on Craigslist. Like I said, subscribing helps me want to write more, though it is hard to imagine writing as much as some bloggers do on top of books AND living life. Whew!

    Thanks guys

    • September 2, 2011 at 12:22 AM

      I know! I can’t imagine. I manage about 2 to 3 blog posts per week. Sometimes less depending on my mood. My novels take up most of my time, but I like to blog. It helps me escape my writing for a little bit, especially when I’m in a funk about my work. It also helps meet new people who can, as you said, help out my writing.

      So, anyway, I look forward to more posts from you. I subscribed as well. 🙂 And good luck with the cat ads. 😉

      • Jennifer J Randolph
        September 2, 2011 at 12:29 AM

        Thanks, now I moved on to torturing my coworkers with adorable dog ads ;P

        Blogging is great but work eats up a ton of energy. Hopefully everything will be pretty smooth after this weekend. My goal is to finish one kids book and start outlining a novel in time to start NA-NO-WRI-MO.

      • September 2, 2011 at 1:19 AM

        Haha!

        Maybe they will be. 🙂

        Nanowrimo scares me. I do wish you luck with it though and your kid’s book!

      • Jennifer J Randolph
        September 2, 2011 at 1:22 AM

        Same but I think after years of hiding under my blankets on November 1st it is time to stop pretending to be a novelist and WRITE. Besides, if it turns out to be a flop then I can work on perfecting some other undiscovered talent.

  4. September 1, 2011 at 11:55 PM

    Followed! About the multiple projects — each one gets a teeny, tiny bit easier, so it’s no wonder I’m so eager to get to the next that I’ll jump before I’m finished the last.

    • Jennifer J Randolph
      September 2, 2011 at 12:04 AM

      I know that feeling! I find my projects tend to inspire more ideas. I keep them all in my ‘Book of Win’ and I just keep them in various stages of progress. I find its ok to have a few writing projects going but keeping them organized is critical. Having a good friend or two who is ok with editing helps.

  5. September 7, 2011 at 5:06 PM

    I so agree with this post! It is very true! 🙂

    • Jennifer J Randolph
      September 7, 2011 at 5:22 PM

      Thanks, it really is. Plus thanks to Maggie I was able to find your blog. Kinda like a virtual ADD connect the dots. Ya see something shiny (creative story) and you want more so you follow as much as you can.

      Pardon me while I go pour glitter on the floor and pretend I am Ke$ha

  6. May 5, 2012 at 10:55 AM

    Jennifer,

    Nice post. Like your free spirit style. Thanks too, for the ping back to my blog on “How to Connect with Your Readers.” I appreciate the support. My blog is designed to encourage writers on their journey. Thanks for encouraging me.

  1. October 11, 2011 at 11:03 AM

Leave a Reply

