Home > Flash Fiction > Flash Fiction: The Belltower

Flash Fiction: The Belltower

Time.

It passes like it or not.  It won’t matter if you save the world or cure cancer or do nothing at all.  It does not matter what your perception is either because time is steady.  You can’t change it or stop it. 

Before she went away, my mom and I used to go to this old belltower in town.  Some old plaque said it was built for some dedication but it’s hard to read all the words. 

I walked by there wondering if for some reason she would be waiting with a hot cocoa like before. 

No one, just the belltower.

  1. Jen Randolph
    August 19, 2011 at 1:00 AM

    I never did flash fiction before, but I wanted to give it a try. Next time I may post a short story I am working on, plus I want to post parts of my next kids book which is a little longer and needs many edits.

  2. August 19, 2011 at 1:46 AM

    Very haunting. I think you could turn this into a longer work. 🙂

  3. Jen Randolph
    August 19, 2011 at 3:50 AM

    Thanks!

  1. August 25, 2011 at 6:20 PM
  2. October 6, 2011 at 9:38 AM
  3. May 4, 2012 at 10:11 AM
  4. May 4, 2012 at 10:21 AM

Leave a Reply

