Home > WANA > The Waiting Game… No One Likes to Play it But it is at EVERY Party

The Waiting Game… No One Likes to Play it But it is at EVERY Party

stress

Anyway, this has been a slow week for writing.  Personal life?  What is that?  Everything has been going towards work and buying the house.  Turning in the application to be approved ended up a huge ordeal.  This past week I spent getting everything together for the application.  Tax info, pay stubs, a promise to give my first born child.  The usual.  I had to get the contract out of review and get the inspection done.  After all that I had everything ready to hand over.  Now when I look back?  I am nervous on if anything got left out.  An important detail which may prove crucial to being accepted.  They could come back and say I am toast for the new place and boot me back to square one.  The same can go for writing.

When you create a story, it is your baby.  It is perfect and we sent our baby off to the agents and publishers.  At first we think “Hot diggity dog this is it!  A work of art that will be a best seller by Christmas.  Private island here I come!”  We believe in ourselves and have full confidence that the work we put into our brain child was worth all the effort.  But later on, when we are at home relaxing and still grinning, we begin to wonder if there was a detail left out which can make or break our story.  That something won’t connect right.  Maybe a character was not developed enough or there was too much.  That the story is predictable.  Soon enough you may find yourself plotting to be at the publisher’s office ready to ambush the Fed-Ex guy delivering your manuscript so no eyes can see it.

Trust me when I say that sometimes it just has to be that way.  That you just have to let your baby go and hope for the best.  Know that you will have the opportunity to improve.  And remember to give yourself credit.  You came up with a new story or wrote a classic tale in a new perspective.  There are no guarantees this won’t flop but that cannot be something that stops you from trying harder next time.

That said, I got word from my illustrator Chieh that the dummy book is nearly done with the sample images.  What we planned to do is send the full dummy book with illustrations and three color pages.  Plus all that writing stuff that might be important.  Soon it will be time to send my baby off to publishers and agents and hope it works out.  Will I be a best selling children’s author by Christmas?  Not gonna hold my breath.  But how will I wait to find out?  By writing a new story.  By finding another project to keep me from staking the mailman.  Will it work?  Usually.

What do you do to fill out the time waiting between projects?  Do you write, or do you refuse to touch paper for fear of creating another flop?

Happy reading, I would love to hear your thoughts.

Books to Read This Week
The Lies of Locke Lamora by Scott Lynch
Ginny Good by Gerard Jones
Santa Olivia by Jacqueline Carey

  1. livinglearningeating
    July 30, 2011 at 3:06 PM

    I take a break for a bit (I’m in the querying stage with a young adult romance/coming-of-age story) and do something else. This time, I started up my food & lifestyle blog, livinglearningeating.wordpress.com, and am basically filling my waiting time with lots of tasty stuff. I also read a lot and then, once I’ve had enough of a break and am craving writing again, I go for it. 🙂

    I just self-published a middle grade novel (Elsbett & Robin Take on A-Nasty-Sia, https://www.createspace.com/3651515) and am trying to figure out if I should buy copies and donate them to libraries, or if that’s a realllly slippery slope, seeing as I haven’t made any money at all yet and doing that would put me in the red…

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

