Home > WIP > Starting Over: Back to my Writing Wroots

Starting Over: Back to my Writing Wroots

Hard work can hurt

Good morning all.

It has been a long summer so far and I have been worked to the bone.  And that is before I have a chance to write my novel and cure cancer then get a Pulitzer Prize!

After far too long not writing, it is time to just blog about anything.  I have been ignoring the advice many give me to just write and it is only harming my skills.  When a person wants to be a writer, it is ok to write total crap.  Not every entry has to be the next great American Masterpiece.

A lot has happened.  Fish is growing by leaps and bounds and it has been almost a year since I met Chieh.  In one year I went from having a simple story that was raw and unedited to having an illustration for every page. 

Hellawes has been slowly coming into her own and is a slow work but the more I build the synopsis the more proud I am.  She is my baby that I might not be ready to share for awhile.

And life itself has been busier than ever.  My multitasking skills got put to the test because I am moving this August.  Between work and school my blog took a back seat.  That and I have a growing addiction to a certain book series written by an old friend of mine.

So now what?  Now I dedicate time to just updating my writing.  Part of that includes sending my resume to various writing gigs on Craigslist and dusting off those writing habits.  How will I do it?  By writing anything that comes to mind and by READING.  One of the best ways I have found to be a good writer is to look at what works.  And when Writer’s block comes along for an unwelcome visit, just write anything.  It may be an inspiration later on.

Related articles

  1. July 26, 2011 at 10:40 PM

    I think there are a lot of things to consider about re-entering writing after taking a break for awhile. Whenever I don’t write for too long, I feel like I’ll fall into the same plot holes as before.
    Really cool posts you’ve linked here. And wow, you’re hard at work on a lot of different projects. Good luck with them all.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

