Home > WANA > Top Reasons I Became A Writer

Top Reasons I Became A Writer

There are days when I stare at my computer screen and attempt to summon the energy to write.  I will wish I had some inspiration to pump out a few pages to a book or try to put a blog post together.  I want to be taken seriously but then my own insecurities get in the way.

My friends do occasionally make fun of my writing since when I talk about it.  What can I say, I get a goofy in love glow.  Family was also fun to explain my interest too, especially my reasonable and practical father. 

At moments like these when writer’s block hits and I can’t get the support I need I turn to other bloggers for some inspiration and it was Kristen Lamb’s turn.  Full of plenty of tips I employ daily, her  blog is a must use for any writer. 

So as a change from the usual, I am going to take a note out of Kristen Lamb’s book and call this a free for all friday and address my own reasons to be a writer.  On rainy days like today when I doubt my own abilities, why not?  So here they are.

6.  Rather than get supplemental income as a waitress, I decided not to give up all my free time after my regular job.  Earning money while writing sounded good to me. One day I was bored and decided to write about my day.  From there I started writing about how my day should go if I could change it, then somehow my journal entry looked something like a Grimm Fairy Tale.

5.  Being eccentric means having a job to go with it.  My behavior is a little less than normal and I could use writing as an excuse. 

4.  Someone in my group of friends had to pick this profession.  We have actors, gamers, movie editors…. and I write about each of them anyway. 

3.  Therapy was too expensive.  Why pay someone to listen to my issues when I can write them out and burn the pages?

2.  Normal is never fun.  Writing is just more exciting.  How else can you visit far off places from your own writer nook?  Or experience a horror from the safety of your couch and a snuggie blanket.  Why not find your self imagining about deep space while walking the dog?  Writing is the thing.

1.  I was an idealist.  I wanted to inspire others to write.  Now I am a realist.  It’s just therapy.

Some of these are repetative.  I also don’t know who actually follows my unrefined unknown work so far…. Just a few well meaning friends who are supporting my ‘habit’ as they call it.  But to those who are following that I have not actually met, I do appreciate the time you took out of your day to read this.

Related Articles

  1. October 1, 2010 at 7:33 PM

    Love your “love glow’ description. I started writing screenplays a couple of years ago and it was like first love. My daughter would catch me grinning to myself and ask “why are you making that face”… awkward…she caught me in a fantasy moment with my characters. Thanks for sharing your thoughts, I especially appreciate your number 2 reason.

    • Jen Randolph
      October 3, 2010 at 9:15 PM

      Haha, the one day I was working on character development and when my friends saw me I was all giggly. It really is a lot of fun getting to know my characters and meeting them. Like a new relationship, hence the “in-love glow”.

  2. Kristen Lamb
    October 1, 2010 at 8:37 PM

    The funny thing is that when you become a writer, you enter a whole new Bell curve of “normal” LOL. Great post and I am glad my blog is so helpful to you. Just keep going. It’s the staying power and the ability to learn that makes the difference in the end.

    Lots of luck!

    Kristen

  3. December 9, 2010 at 10:35 AM

    Most of the blogs online are pretty much the same but i think you can add some value. Grats !

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

